What to know: District 4 special primary election in San Diego County

Election Day is on Tuesday, Aug. 15, 2023, for the Fourth Supervisorial District.

SD Special Election District 4 Ballot

San Diegans can drop off their ballots ahead of Election Day or vote in person early at seven Vote Centers beginning Saturday, Aug. 5.

The special primary election to fill the vacant seat in San Diego County’s Fourth Supervisorial District is on Tuesday, Aug. 15. Here’s what you need to know about the process.

Communities and candidates:

  • District 4 serves ~700,000 residents across 101 square miles including communities like North Park, Balboa Park, Mission Hills, Normal Heights, University Heights, Clairemont, Lemon Grove, La Mesa, and more. Find out if you’re in District 4.
  • The candidates looking to fill the role left vacant by Nathan Fletcher’s resignation are Democrats Monica Montgomery Steppe and Janessa Goldbeck, and Republicans Amy Reichert and Paul McQuigg.

Where to vote:

  • Drop off your completed mail-in ballot now through 8 p.m. on Election Day (remember to sign and date it) at one of 29 red, white, and blue drop boxes, and sign up to track your ballot’s path. Reminder: The registration deadline for voters to receive a mail-in ballot for this election has passed; nearly 400,000 voters received mail-in ballots.
  • Vote in person at a Vote Center — seven early voting locations will be open daily, 8 a.m.-5 p.m., starting Saturday, Aug. 5. A total of 14 Vote Centers will be open on Election Day, 7 a.m.-8 p.m.
  • Vote Center locations include the North Park Recreation Center, City Heights Recreation Center, Father Junípero Serra Hall, and Encanto VFW Post #512.
  • For additional election information, text COSD D4Election to 468311.

What’s next?

  • The San Diego County Registrar of Voters will track election results and has until Thursday, Sept. 14, to certify the election.
  • If no candidate receives a majority vote, then a runoff election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 7.
  • The elected candidate will serve for the remainder of the current term, through January 2027.